Series Spotlight: Tales From The Nightside

If Halloween can’t come soon enough for you, Simon R. Green’s Tales From The Nightside will get you into the proper, spooky mood. In the Nightside, gods and monsters walk hand in hand, and it’s always 3am: the hour that tries men’s souls…and finds them wanting. Fans of The Dresden Files, old-school Stephen King, and Neil Gaiman’s darker horror-fantasies, like American Gods, will want to give this series a try.

Simon R. Green’s Nightside series imagines a secret, dark world of unspeakable horrors nestled within downtown London. Each book in the series focuses on a specific character or mystery, but certain key characters turn up time and again across the series. If you’re unfamiliar with it and want to get a better idea of what to expect from the Nightside, the short story collection, Tales From the Nightside (5/5 stars, currently priced at $11.99), is a good place to begin. From Amazon:

New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green returns to the “bizarre and gleefully dangerous backdrop” (Jim Butcher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Dresden Files) of the Nightside with this landmark collection of short fiction.

Welcome to the Nightside. It’s the secret heart of London, beating to its own rhythm, pumping lifeblood through the veins of its streets and alleys hidden in eternal darkness, where creatures of the night congregate and where the sun is afraid to shine. It’s the place to go if you’re looking to indulge the darker side of your nature—and to hell with the consequences.

Tales from the Nightside presents ten macabre mysteries that shine a dim beam into the neighborhood’s darkest corners to reveal things that should never come to light. Take a walk with such deadly and dangerous denizens of the Nightside as Razor Eddie, Dead Boy, and Larry Oblivion as they encounter things even more inhuman and inhumane than they are. And join John Taylor, the PI with a knack for finding lost things, as he confronts Sir Francis Varney, King of the Vampires, in a never-before-published novella-length adventure.

There may be nothing to be afraid of in the dark, but there’s plenty to be afraid of in the Nightside…

Includes “The Big Game,” a Never-Before-Published Nightside Novella and Nine Other Favorite Nightside Stories


Note that the series does not need to be read in order, key characters and details are refreshed for the reader in every volume. Also consider:

Nightingale’s Lament – Nightside Series Book 3 (4.5/5 stars, currently priced at $7.99)

In the Nightside, the hidden heart of London where it’s always 3 AM, Detective John Taylor must find an elusive singer known as The Nightingale.

Her silken voice has inexplicably lured many a fan to suicide–and Taylor is determined to stop her, before the whole neighborhood falls under her trance.

But to catch the swift-winged Nightingale, he’ll have to hear the deadly music–and survive.


Just Another Judgement Day – Nightside Series Book 9 (4.5/5 stars, currently priced at $7.99)

Just another success from the New York Times bestselling author

God’s own enforcer, the righteous engine of destruction known as the Walking Man, has come to the Nightside.

His sole purpose is the elimination of the wicked and the guilty, which means no one will be left in the Nightside once he gets started.

So the Authorities have hired P.I. John Taylor to stop him. Legend has it that he can’t be killed. Taylor is very much hoping that the legend isn’t true.


Hell to Pay – Nightside Series Book 7 (4.5/5 stars, currently priced at $7.99)

In the wake of the war that left the Nightside leaderless, Jeremiah Griffin-one of the last of the immortal human families-plans to fill the power vacuum. But his granddaughter has disappeared, and he wants John Taylor to use his special abilities to find her. Except someone-or something-is blocking Taylor’s abilities.


Click here to browse the full Nightside series.


* * *

Tech Tip of the Week: Which File Storage Type Lasts The Longest?

* * *


Copy link
Powered by Social Snap