A heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable page turner set in Ireland: The Orphan’s Daughter by Sandy Taylor

The Orphan’s Daughter: A heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable page turner set in Ireland

by Sandy Taylor
4.6 stars – 483 reviews
Everyday Price: $3.99
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:
‘Wow… I absolutely loved this book. Warning: keep the tissues handy!’ Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Gut-wrenching… Brought me to tears numerous times’ Stacy is Reading⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Ireland, 1924. For thirteen-year-old Nora Doyle every day is a fight for survival in Ballybun, the rural Irish village she calls home. Each night, as she feels the cold wind blowing through the cracks of her family’s cramped cottage, Nora longs to escape the poverty surrounding her and find her place in the world.

When she meets Edward, from the grand house that looms over her tiny village, she feels an unlikely kinship that is impossible to explain, and as she grows from an impulsive child into a beautiful woman, Nora spends every moment she can with him. But Edward holds the key to a secret about Nora’s own family that changes her life forever, and the devastating impact tears Nora away from her beloved village. Now she must start afresh in busy, hectic Dublin. When Nora meets charming baker Joe Lynch, can she dare to risk her heart again?

But sorrow is never far away for an Irish village girl, and when tragedy strikes, Nora must return to Ballybun to see Edward once more and face up to the truth that drove her away. But back amongst the familiar sights and smells of her childhood, Nora feels herself drawn once more to her old life, and love, as she faces an impossible choice. Torn in different directions, can Nora find the strength to be true to herself?

A heart-wrenching story of love, loss and the power of friendship during unimaginable hardship. This book is perfect for fans of Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe’s The Girl with No Name.

Leave a Comment

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap