Kids on Fire: Box Sets To Suit Every Taste

November 23, 2015
By

Did you know it’s now possible to gift specific Kindle books, rather than sending an Amazon gift card along with a note to indicate which book(s) you have in mind? Just click the “give as a gift” button in the right-hand sidebar on any Kindle book’s product page on the Amazon site. With that in mind, here are some great picks for the young bookworms on your list.

For the older child who loves epic fantasies like Lord of the RingsThe Chronicles of Narnia Complete 7-Book Collection with Bonus Book: Boxen (4.5/5 stars, tweens and up, currently priced at $29.99 for the 8-book bundle). From Amazon:

This collection contains all seven books in the classic fantasy series The Chronicles of Narnia without art, to appeal to older readers. This special ebook edition includes an introduction by C. S. Lewis’s stepson, Douglas Gresham, and full text and art for Lewis’s very first work—Boxen!

Experience C. S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia in its entirety—The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; and The Last Battle. This bundle comes with a special introduction by Douglas Gresham, C. S. Lewis’s stepson, for a behind-the-scenes look at Lewis while he was writing the book.

The Chronicles of Narnia has become part of the canon of classic literature, drawing readers of all ages into magical lands with unforgettable characters for over sixty years. Epic battles between good and evil, fantastic creatures, betrayals, heroic deeds, and friendships won and lost all come together in this unforgettable world.

And then discover the world before Narnia with Boxen, a collection of stories written by C. S. Lewis and his brother when they were children, with the authors’ own delightful illustrations. For every reader who has been captivated by the magic of Narnia, Boxen will open a window to another enchanted land and offer the first glimmer of C. S. Lewis’s amazing creativity.

 

For tweens who love fantasy-adventure with heroes and monstersPercy Jackson & The Olympians 5-Book Set (5/5 stars, tweens and up, currently priced at $27.33 for the 5-book bundle).

From Book 1:
Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse-Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends — one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena — Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

 

For gradeschoolers who love funny books and cartoonsDiary of a Wimpy Kid Books 1-4 (5/5 stars, grade 2 and up, currently priced at $28.60 for the 4-book bundle).

From Book 1:
Boys don’t keep diaries—or do they?

The launch of an exciting and innovatively illustrated new series narrated by an unforgettable kid every family can relate to.

It’s a new school year, and Greg Heffley finds himself thrust into middle school, where undersized weaklings share the hallways with kids who are taller, meaner, and already shaving. The hazards of growing up before you’re ready are uniquely revealed through words and drawings as Greg records them in his diary.

In book one of this debut series, Greg is happy to have Rowley, his sidekick, along for the ride. But when Rowley’s star starts to rise, Greg tries to use his best friend’s newfound popularity to his own advantage, kicking off a chain of events that will test their friendship in hilarious fashion.

Author/illustrator Jeff Kinney recalls the growing pains of school life and introduces a new kind of hero who epitomizes the challenges of being a kid. As Greg says in his diary, “Just don’t expect me to be all ‘Dear Diary’ this and ‘Dear Diary’ that.” Luckily for us, what Greg Heffley says he won’t do and what he actually does are two very different things.

Since its launch in May 2004 on Funbrain.com, the Web version of Diary of a Wimpy Kid has been viewed by 20 million unique online readers. This year, it is averaging 70,000 readers a day.

 

For gradeschoolers who love fairy tale mashups and alternative takes on classic charactersThe School For Good and Evil 3-Book Series (5/5 stars, grade 3 and up, currently priced at $22.97 for the 3-book bundle).

From Book 1:
At the School for Good and Evil, failing your fairy tale is not an option.

Welcome to the School for Good and Evil, where best friends Sophie and Agatha are about to embark on the adventure of a lifetime.

With her glass slippers and devotion to good deeds, Sophie knows she’ll earn top marks at the School for Good and join the ranks of past students like Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Snow White. Meanwhile, Agatha, with her shapeless black frocks and wicked black cat, seems a natural fit for the villains in the School for Evil.

The two girls soon find their fortunes reversed—Sophie’s dumped in the School for Evil to take Uglification, Death Curses, and Henchmen Training, while Agatha finds herself in the School for Good, thrust among handsome princes and fair maidens for classes in Princess Etiquette and Animal Communication.

But what if the mistake is actually the first clue to discovering who Sophie and Agatha really are . . . ?

The School for Good and Evil is an epic journey into a dazzling new world, where the only way out of a fairy tale is to live through one.

 

For gradeschoolers who love animal adventuresSurvivors Box Set: Volumes 1 to 3 (5/5 stars, grade 3 and up, currently priced at $18.97 for the 3-book bundle).

From Book 1:
From the author of the bestselling Warriors and Seekers books comes a thrilling new animal fantasy series. In Survivors, Erin Hunter shows readers the world through the eyes of dogs, as she did with cats and bears in her earlier series.

The Empty City begins with the Big Growl, a devastating earthquake that changes Lucky’s world forever. Lucky has always been a Lone Dog, but now he needs a Pack in order to stay alive, so he teams up with a group of Leashed Dogs who have been separated from their owners.

Lucky’s vivid point of view and the pulse-pounding action make for the start of an addictive series. The time has come for dogs to rule the wild!

Supports the Common Core State Standards

 

For readers who are new to chapter books and love funny, fantastical stories about offbeat kidsFranny K. Stein’s Crate of Danger Boxed Set – Books 1-4 (4.5/5 stars, grade 2 and up, currently priced at $21.46 for the 4-book bundle).

From Book 1:
Franny K. Stein is not your average girl—she’s a mad scientist. She prefers poison ivy to daisies, and when Franny jumps rope, she uses her pet snake. The kids in Franny’s class think she’s weird, wacky, and just plain creepy.

Tired of being stared at, Franny decides to attempt her most dangerous experiment yet—she’s going to fit in. But when a giant Monstrous Fiend attacks the class, everyone knows only a true mad scientist can save the day. But has Franny lost her creepy, crawly ways?

 

For confident chapter book readers who love darkly humorous stories about resourceful kidsA Series of Unfortunate Events Collection: Books 1-3 with Bonus Material (4.5/5 stars, grade 5 and up, currently priced at $12.99 for the 3-book bundle).

Lemony Snicket’s unhappy tale of the unlucky Baudelaire siblings begins with The Bad Beginning. In this short bothersome book alone, the three orphans encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

Should you not mind deadly serpents, slippery salamanders, lumpy beds, large brass reading lamps, long knives, and terrible odors, then proceed with caution to the second book in the miserable series, The Reptile Room.

Readers unbothered by inclement weather, hungry leeches, and cold cucumber soup will want to continue with the third installment, The Wide Window. Others will not.

If you’ve got the stomach to wade through the first three tragic tales in Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, then this troubling collection might be the one for you. Several loathsome extras, including a compilation of unsettling quotations and a very disturbing portrait, await those who successfully complete the wretched journey. You’ve been warned!

 

For teens who love dystopian SciFiThe Maze Runner 4-Book Series (4/5 stars, teens, currently priced at $34.96 for the 4-book bundle).

#1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV’s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and the second book, The Scorch Trials, is soon to be a movie, hitting theaters September 18, 2015!

From Book 1:
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone. Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade. Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive. Everything is going to change. Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying. Remember. Survive. Run.

 

For tweens who love anime and graphic novels, middle-grade reluctant readersAmulet : Books 1-3 (5/5 stars, teens, currently priced at $25.19 for the 3-book bundle).

From Book 1:
Graphic novel star Kazu Kibuishi creates a world of terrible, man-eating demons, a mechanical rabbit, a talking fox, a giant robot—and two ordinary children on a mission.

After the tragic death of their father, Emily and Navin move with their mother to the home of her deceased great-grandfather, but the strange house proves to be dangerous. Before long, a sinister creature lures the kids’ mom through a door in the basement. Em and Navin, desperate not to lose her, follow her into an underground world inhabited by demons, robots, and talking animals.

Eventually, they enlist the help of a small mechanical rabbit named Miskit. Together with Miskit, they face the most terrifying monster of all, and Em finally has the chance to save someone she loves.

 

* * *

Tech Tip of the Week: You Don’t Have To Download Everything To Your Fire or Kindle – in fact, you shouldn’t

* * *

 

Tags:

Comments are closed.

Subscribe

to KND's FREE Email Newsletters!

Great deals, free excerpts, tips & more



Get Free Books & Bargain Bestsellers at bookgorilla.com

Try A FREE 30-Day Trial of Amazon Prime!